Fire Alarm Intermediate Bundle

$ 199.00

Continuing Education Units (CEU): 0.80

Expected Duration: 8 Hours

This self-paced online series covers specialized fire detectors, notification appliances, signal transmission, and the various fire alarm systems as outlined in NFPA 72, the National Fire Alarm Code. Continue your fire alarm education with this series. Complete all eight modules and qualify for .8 CEU.

These modules are included in the series:

  • Introduction to Specialized Fire Detectors
  • Notification Appliances
  • Supervisory Initiating Devices
  • EVACS Applications
  • Signal Transmission
  • Auxiliary Fire Alarm Systems
  • Central Station Fire Alarm Systems
  • Proprietary Station Fire Alarm Systems

Upon completion you should be able to:

  • Describe the role of specialized fire detectors in fire protection systems, the applications and requirements for different appliances, and the principles that underlie their operation.
  • Explain the requirements for monitoring critical processes, electric fire pumps, engine driven fire pumps, dry pipe sprinkler valves and systems, pre-action sprinkler valves and systems, building temperature, water storage tanks used for fire protection, special fire suppression systems.
  • Describe an EVACS, explain when an EVACS is required, and outline the elements that might be included in an EVACS system.
  • Explain how various fire alarm signal transmission methods work, including McCulloh system, active multiplex, directly connected, digital alarm communications system, two-way RF multiplex systems, one-way private radio, directly connected non-coded systems, and private microwave radio systems.

Who Will Benefit

Anyone whose job involves designing, reviewing, evaluating or installing fire protection systems, including: designers, installers, engineers, electrical contractors, technicians, project managers, fire marshals, and architects.